Rainy Autumn Days

I woke to the soothing sound of rain on the window this morning. The slow patter of drops hitting the window, and the steady sound of dripping water was peaceful and reassuring.  Even without my hearing aids, I could hear the wind blowing through the leaves that remained on the maples. 

Just before dawn, I got out of bed and opened the window and felt the rush of the wind come right at me and surround me with a fresh earthy smell.  The streetlight on the road behind my home provided enough ambient light to give me a glimpse of leaves blowing away in a steady stream.

I got my coffee, opened the drapes and sat in my darkened living room and watched the day unfold outside.

You know what’s terrific about today?  I’m retired. 

I’ve noticed that rainy days have a different effect on me now. They are soothing and relaxing. I can putter around the house doing anything and everything, or nothing at all. Oh, the freedom of that simple decision.   I don’t have to drive across the city in rush hour traffic, deal with problems all day, then drive home again in rush hour traffic in the rain.  

No, I’m retired, and I can choose how to deal with today and I think I’ll go outside.

After getting ready for the day and I put Zoey’s collar and leash on her and went out for my first walk of the day. I have to admit, the dog was a bit hesitant at first, and stopped in her tracks and looked at me with a “human, are you aware that I will get wet?”

We both got a bit wet on our walk, but it was exhilarating and mood lifting to feel the wind blowing through my hair, hear the rustle of the leaves, and see them fall like confetti around me. Reds and yellows, oranges and browns, falling and landing in beautiful random patterns.

I twirled my umbrella watching the raindrops fly off the tips and I made a point of walking through puddles.  I smiled all the way around the block.

I don’t have to go to work today, because I’m retired.

It’s a good day.


Leave a comment